IAFP Annual Conference — May 5-6, 2023

Register Today!
IAFP 2023 Annual Conference, May 5-6, 2023
The Shore Lodge, McCall, ID

The Idaho Academy of Family Physicians invites you to attend our 2023 Annual Conference and 13.5 continuing medical education (CME) event. This event offers interesting topics of relevance to Family Physicians, all while you enjoy the beauty and comfort of the Shore Lodge on the Payette Lake in McCall, Idaho.

See below for registration details, presentation topics, lodging information, and safety protocols. You can view all event details in our conference brochure.

Please contact Liz Woodruff, IAFP Executive Director, at Liz@idahoafp.org or 208-871-4597 if you have questions or need assistance with your registration.

Registration and Lodging

The IAFP’s Conference will take place at the Shore Lodge in McCall, Idaho.

Call the Shore Lodge at 1-800-657-6464 to book lodging and ask for IAFP’s room block. All cancellations are fully refundable up to 15 days prior to arrival.

Your registration covers the full event, and includes conference meals specified in our agenda, though we ask for your RSVP to our Reception on the evening of Thursday, May 4 and lunches on May 5-6 to match food availability with actual attendance.

As of February 28, 2023, the Shore Lodge is close to selling out. Here are some other lodging options in the area:

Hotel McCall 208-634-8105 Hotel McCall | Boutique hotel in McCall, Idaho
Scandia Inn 208-634-7394 Scandia Inn (thescandiainn.com)
Nordic Inn 208-634-7671 Stay in Style in McCall, ID (nordicinnmccall.com)
Holiday Inn 208-634-4700 Holiday Inn Express & Suites McCall – McCall, United States (ihg.com)
Best Western Plus 208-634-2230 Best Western Plus McCall Lodge & Suites | Hotel Rooms

Knowledge Self-Assessment (KSA) “Health Counseling and Preventive Care”

A KSA  (Health Counseling and Preventive Care) will be offered on Sunday, May 7 from 8 am-12 pm at the Shore Lodge. You must select this option, at an additional cost, when you register for the event.

COVID-19 Guidelines, Cancellation, and Refunds

  • We will request a signed attestation of vaccination at on-site registration
  • Mask optional–with available masks at meeting sites for attendee use if desired

Cancellation of lodging is per the terms of the Shore Lodge and must be made 15 days prior to your stay for a full refund.

Registration Rates

Early Bird Extended! — Before March 31

Members: $270

Non-Members: $300

Medical Students, Residents, BIPOC, and  Life-Time Members are Free

After March 31

Members: $300

Non-Members: $330

Medical Students, Residents, BIPOC, and Life-Time Members are Free

*KSA on Sunday, May 7 is available for $25. Click on this option to add this to your registration on the registration page.

Conference Agenda

Thursday, May 4, 2023

Welcome Reception: 5:00 – 8:00 pm

Friday, May 5, 2023

CME Program: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

Lunch and Member Installation: 12:00 – 1:00 pm

CME Program: 1:00pm – 4:45 pm

Social Snacks and Member Roundtable: 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm

Saturday May 6, 2023

CME Program: 8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Lunch and Keynote (CME): 12:00 – 1:30 pm

CME Program: 1:30 – 5:30pm


Sunday, May 7, 2023

Knowledge Self-Assessment: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

Continental Breakfast is offered Friday, Saturday and for those attending the Sunday KSA. Dinner is on your own Friday and Saturday evenings.

Presentation Topics

  • Most Exciting / Practice Changing Articles of 2022-2023 Justin Glass, MD
  • Management of Hypertension in Pregnancy Kylie Cooper, MD
  • Dermatology Tips for Family Practice with Dermatoscope (2-Part Presentation) Chris Scholes, MD
  • Nuances of Newborn Care: Addressing Parental Hesitancy in the Hospital and Beyond Emily McCarty, MD
  • Does Your Patient Have Suicidal Ideation? What Can Be Done to Help? Jonathan Bowman, MD
  • Evaluation and Treatment of ADHD Across the Lifespan Daisha Orchard, MD
  • 2 Hour CME – Impact of Implicit Bias in Healthcare and Tools for Change Angela Bangs, MD and Sarah Gerrish, MD
  • Keynote – The Reproductive Health Landscape in Idaho in 2023: Panel Discussion and Future Actions Caitlin Gustafson, MD and Loren Colson, DO
  • Caring for Gender Diverse Patients: Providing Evidence-Based Gender Affirming Care Marvin Alviso, MD
  • Reframing Obesity Management in the Primary Care Clinic: Medications and Patient Accountability Crystal Pyrak, MD and Nathan Bertsch, PharmD
  • Musculoskeletal POCUS Workshop Jason Johnston, MD and Tracye Lawyer, MD

Accreditation – The AAFP has reviewed IAFP 2023 Annual Conference and deemed it acceptable for up to 13.50 Live AAFP Prescribed credits. Term of Approval is from 05/05/2023 to 05/06/2023. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. It is the policy of IAFP’s education committee to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor in all its sponsored educational programs. All speakers are expected to disclose to the program audience any real or apparent conflicts of interest related to the content of their presentation(s).

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors!